April 6, 2010

Sports Commentary

Can we finally dispense with the mid-major nonsense? Why is a college basketball program defined by the BCS football schools? Quick, name the storied programs in College basketball.

UCLA, Duke, North Carolina, Indiana, Kentucky. How many basketball final four and National Championships among those schools? How many winning football seasons? How many BCS championships? How many bowl game wins?

Exactly. Gonzaga, George Mason and Butler are perennial Tourney teams. Why are they defined as something less than top-tier basketball schools? Why does the lack of football success determine their basketball pedegree?

A sportswriter summed last night's game perfectly. The right team won. Had Butler's final shot gone into the hoop, the right team would have won.

I was watching the Cubs game yesterday. It was opening day against Atlanta (f-ing Cubs). There was a fly ball hit to center. The Atlanta center fielder made a diving catch, only the ball fell out of his glove when he hit the ground. The players body hid the roll from the 3rd base umpire, but the TV camera's captured it. The Cubs runner, going to second base saw the drop and proceeded to second base. The player got up, and threw the ball to the short stoop who threw it to first. The umpire (who could not see the drop) called the batter out and the throw to first base was ruled a double play. Since the ball was dropped , both Cubs runners should have been safe.

There was discussion among the umpires, and the Cubs manager argued the calls, but to no avail. the ruling had no effect on the Cubbies poor outing, but the wrong calls were made. I am no advocate for replay or letting the TV cameras dictate the outcome. the human error of the umpire is part of the game. I do believe a player should play with honor. The Atlanta player knew he dropped the ball. Letting the play stand as an out shows the man has no character. Nate McClouth should be ashamed. Your record shows a putout and an assist you do not deserve.

In the 1925 US Open Bobby Jones took a penalty stroke after his ball moved. No one saw it but Jones. yet he took the penalty and it cost him the Open. Too bad McClouth cannot have the same kind of honor in sports.

No comments:

Consider everything here that is of original content copyrighted as of March 2005